Summer Vacation: What I’ve Been Up To

     What’s up everyone! It’s been awhile since my last post but I’m going to work on keeping it up to date. The past week or so I have been in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina for family vacation and my brother’s baseball tournament. My brother, Cole, plays for the 13U High Point Panthers travel team and their team was competing in the Triple Crown Nationals. The Panthers didn’t play particularly well, but Cole hit and pitched well, including a complete game pitching performance (I’ll take credit for that haha!). Other than baseball, it was a good time to hang out with my family away from our normal lives in the booming metropolis of Lexington. We went out on the beach most days but some days it was just way too hot for my liking. We also went to a Pelicans’ minor league game, did some college dorm shopping, and ate some really good meals. Overall, it was a great trip and Myrtle Beach always has something new going on.

     In the next week or so, I’ll be back at home enjoying my summer before I head off to school. Mitway, the second most booming city in Davidson County, is hosting the official summer festival for the North Davidson community, the Slip ‘n Slide. This Slip ‘n Slide is homemade, with a tarp that stretches down a sloped hill and with a water hose that keeps the tarp wet enough to slide on. At the bottom of the tarp is a pool filled with water that eventually includes soap that the participants add to their bodies to make sliding even easier. It’s a really fun activity for everyone and a good chance to catch up with friends that I haven’t seen since school. Other than that, I will be trying to stay in shape for baseball and hanging out with friends and family. Thanks for the read and check out the other posts if you haven’t already!

P.S.  The actual town is spelled Midway, just a little jab at one of the communities.

This is a picture of last year’s Slip ‘n Slide. The rumor is that this year’s slide is twice as big.

Posted on July 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

